Which Of The Following Is The Correct Order For Piaget’S Four Stages Of Cognitive Development?

Which Of The Following Is The Correct Order For Piaget
Option 3: Sensory motor, Pre-operational, Concrete operational, and Formal operational is the answer (see below for a more in-depth solution). According to the Cognitive Development Theory proposed by Jean Piaget:

  • The rate at which cognitive growth occurs varies according to the level of development being considered.
  • Interactions between a kid and their surroundings are critical to the growth of their cognitive abilities.
  • Piaget’s theory focuses not only on understanding how children gain information but also on understanding the nature of the child’s intelligence. This is because Piaget believed that children’s intellect was not fixed at birth but rather developed through time.

Piaget’s theory of cognitive development may be broken down into four stages:

Stages of Development Characteristics
Sensorimotor (birth to 2 yr) Experiences the world through senses and actions (looking, hearing, touching, mouthing, and grasping) Cognitive development begins with the baby’s use of senses and movements Develops object permanence
Pre-Operational (2-7 yr) Learns to use language to represent objects by images and words Classifies objects by a single feature. Thinking is ego-centric; has difficulty taking in the point of view of others. Develops symbolic thought
Concrete-Operational (7-11 yr) Thinking logically about concrete events, performing concrete arithmetic operations Achieves conservation of number (age-6), mass (age-7), and weight (age-9) Develops operational thought
Formal Operational (11 yr and above) Potential for more mature moral reasoning Becomes concerned with hypothetical, future, and ideological problems Develops abstract concepts

It is possible to draw the following conclusion as a result: the true sequence of Piaget’s four stages of cognitive development is “Sensory-motor period — Preoperational period — Concrete operational period — Formal operational period.”

See also:  How Does Your Personal Learning Style Affect Your Professional Development?

What is the correct order of Piaget’s stages quizlet?

How should the phases of development described by Piaget be arranged in the right order? a) sensorimotor, concrete, operational, preoperational, formal operational.

What are the 4 stages of development?

Piaget’s four phases

Stage Age Goal
Sensorimotor Birth to 18–24 months old Object permanence
Preoperational 2 to 7 years old Symbolic thought
Concrete operational 7 to 11 years old Operational thought
Formal operational Adolescence to adulthood Abstract concepts

What did Piaget believe about his stages of cognitive development quizlet?

Piaget’s theory hinges on the idea that children go through several phases of development, including sensorimotor, preoperational, concrete operational, and formal operational stages. This is the central tenet of Piaget’s theory. Children experience and reason the world differently at each stage of their development.