What Are The 3 Level Of Personal Moral Development Model?

What Are The 3 Level Of Personal Moral Development Model
The Theory of Developmental Change by Kohlberg Written by Saul McLeod and revised in 2013 According to Kohlberg’s thesis, there are three phases of moral growth, one for each of the three degrees of moral development that are proposed to exist. Kohlberg proposed that humans progress through these phases in a predetermined order and that moral comprehension is tied to cognitive growth.

The preconventional, the conventional, and the postconventional stages of moral reasoning are the three levels of moral reasoning. Kohlberg demonstrated that the thought process behind a child’s decision was a more accurate reflection of their level of moral development than the decision itself by analyzing the replies children gave to a series of moral conundrums.

Piaget’s (1932) theory of moral development was something that Lawrence Kohlberg (1958) agreed with in principle, but Kohlberg sought to extend his views even further. He told them stories using Piaget’s approach for storytelling in order to present them with moral conundrums.

In each scenario, he posed a decision that must be made, such as between the rights of some authority and the requirements of some deserving individual who is being treated unfairly. One of the stories written by Kohlberg in 1958 that has gained the most notoriety is the one about a man named Heinz who lived in Europe.

The particular form of cancer that Heinz’s wife was suffering from was terminal. The doctors thought a new medication would be able to rescue her. The medicine had been found by a local chemist, and the Heinz company tried very hard to get some of it. However, the chemist was demanding ten times the amount of money it cost to create the drug, which was far more than the Heinz company could afford to pay at the moment.

Even with the assistance of his family and friends, Heinz was only able to raise fifty percent of the required amount. He broke the news to the pharmacist that his wife was ill and requested if he could get the medication at a reduced price or if he could pay the remainder of the bill at a later date.

The chemist did not agree, citing the fact that he was the one who had developed the medication and intended to profit from it. Later that night, the husband broke into the pharmacy and grabbed the medication since he was so intent on reviving his wife that he was willing to do anything.

See also:  How To Do Past Life Regression Meditation?

How many levels of moral development are there?

See also: Lev Vygotsky’s Sociocultural Theory of Cognitive Development for further information on the stages of moral development. The six different steps might be broken down into three distinct degrees of moral thinking. In accordance with Piaget’s theory, it was improbable that the subjects’ moral growth would go backwards; rather, they advanced through the stages in the following order: pre-conventional, conventional, and then post-conventional.

At each step, there is a fresh viewpoint to be gained; nevertheless, not everyone can consistently perform at the greatest level. As a result of the fact that people can only achieve a more complete knowledge by building on their previous experiences, it is impossible to skip phases of moral development.

Kohlberg’s 6 Stages of Moral Development

Stage 1 (Pre-Conventional)

  • Obedience and a focus on punishment (How can I get out of being punished?) orientation.
  • a preoccupation with one’s own interests (What are the benefits to me? pursuing something desirable)

Stage 2 (Conventional)

  • Consonance and agreement between individuals (Social norms, good boy – good girl attitude)
  • a mindset that upholds authority and the established social order (Law and order morality)

Stage 3 (Post-Conventional)

  • Orientation toward social contracts (Justice and the spirit of the law)
  • Principles of ethics that apply everywhere (Principled conscience)

Which of the following consists of three levels and six stages?

Levels – Pre-conventional, conventional, and post-conventional were the three categories that were used to organize Kohlberg’s six stages of development. It is quite unusual for a child to go backward in stages, according to Piaget’s constructivist prerequisites for a stage model (for further information, see the theorist’s theory of cognitive development).

  1. Even yet, nobody ever operates at their peak performance during their whole life.
  2. It is also not feasible to “jump” phases; each level presents a new yet required perspective, and is more extensive, differentiated, and integrated than its predecessors were.
  3. Jumping stages is not possible.
  4. Level 1 (Pre-Conventional) 1.
See also:  What Does God Say About Procrastination?

An emphasis on obedience and retribution orientation 2. A focus on one’s own self-interest (asking, “What’s in it for me?”) Level 2 (Conventional) 3. agreement and compliance in interpersonal relationships (the attitude of being a nice lad or girl).4. An attitude that upholds authority and the established social order ( Law and order morality ) Level 3 (Post-Conventional) 5.

What is Preconventional?

According to Kohlberg’s view of the evolution of morality, the first stage of moral thinking is when a kid evaluates their activities in terms of the material implications their actions will have.